Skip to content

Older People’s Councils are established by Local Authorities so that older people can raise concerns or issues of importance at a local level. They are a vehicle to bring the voice of older people into local government and help to inform private and public service provision.

The Limerick Age Friendly Older Persons Executive has 12 members with 3 people representing each of the 4 municipal districts (Adare MD, Cappamore – Kilmallock MD, Metro MD and NewcastleWest MD).

Limerick OPC

The Limerick OPE has met on four occasions thus far in 2023 in the Dooradoyle Council Chamber.

Meetings were held on 10th February to Elect new Chairperson and Vice Chairperson, 16th February for OPC Training, 27th February for a consultation for the draft 2023 – 2027 Age Friendly Strategy.

A meeting was held on 13th June to update the OPE on the status of the new Strategy and other items carried out to raise the profile of Age Friendly Limerick. The annual Age Friendly Open Day was held on the 21st November in The Woodlands Hotel, Adare and attended by over 130 people.

On 20th April 2023 Elizabeth Liz Stanley and Paddy Hyland were elected Chairperson and Vice Chairperson of the Limerick Older People’s Executive.

OPE Executive Members 2023

NameElectoral Area
May O’ DonnellAdare MD
Mary DundonAdare MD
Bridget LohanAdare MD
Elizabeth Stanley (Chairperson)Cappamore – Kilmallock MD
Paddy Hyland ( Vice Chairperson)Cappamore – Kilmallock MD
Jim HickeyCappamore – Kilmallock MD
Eamonn Mc QuadeMetro MD
Pat BegleyMetro MD
Jean RyanMetro MD
Pearl WalsheNewcastleWest MD
Mary HallinanNewcastleWest MD
Dennis Mc AuliffeNewcastleWest MD